News, Parish Council

Changes to Electoral boundaries at the local elections (key dates)

voteThe Rugby Electoral Changes Order 2012 states that the parish of Clifton upon Dunsmore will from May 2016 be divided into two Wards.

The two Ward areas will be known as:

  •  Clifton upon Dunsmore Ward. Polling station –Townsend Memorial Hall (1022 electors), and
  • Rugby Radio Station Ward. Polling station – Hillmorton Primary School (25 electors)

In future be seven councillors are to be elected for Clifton upon Dunsmore ward and one councillor is to be elected for Rugby Radio Station ward.

Local elections 2016

Key dates

21 March 2016 RBC Information meeting for prospective candidates Committee Room 1 of the Town Hall, Evreux Way, Rugby starting at 5.30p
30 March 2016 Notice of election to be displayed on Parish Council notice boards and nomination forms available for issue (Clerk will have some copies
7 April 2016 (4pm) Deadline for prospective candidates to return their nomination forms in person or via a trusted person to the Town Hall (cannot be submitted by post, email, FAX etc)
8 April 2016 (4pm) Statement of nominated persons issued and notice of any uncontested elections issued by the Borough Council.
26 April 2016 Notice of poll to be displayed on Parish Council notice boards
5 May 2016 Elections
9 May 2016 All existing members retire and those entitle too, take up office
16 May 2016 Annual Meeting of the Parish Council


Staff in the election office may be contacted on 01788 533595 or